RAYS OF WISDOM

VOL. 129 | NO. 133 | Thursday, July 10, 2014

Rays of Wisdom

Dana and Ray Brandon

Alternative Banking – Is It For You?

By Ray and Dana Brandon

Ray's take: The world of banking is evolving. Over the past decade we’ve seen an increase in the number of online only, or alternative banks. Whether or not this is a good thing depends on whom you talk to about it.

I think everyone can agree it’s great to be able to deposit checks online, pay bills online, and see all of your transactions immediately. Those things are offered by both traditional brick and mortar banks as well as the newer online alternative banks.

So, what ‘s so wonderful about the alternative banks, and why are people interested in them? A big draw is that they usually offer a higher interest rate than traditional banks. Another factor to consider, the alternative bank is never closed. You can reach someone on an 800 number any time.

Interestingly, a study by Accenture found openness to alternative banking varies by age range with the millennials being the most open to alternative banks. The survey found 39 percent of consumers 18 to 34 years old would consider switching to a non-brick-and-mortar bank, compared to 29 percent of customers 35 to 55, and 16 percent of customers over 55.

It really depends on your own comfort level handling your banking needs in today’s digital age. Do you prefer the personal touch of dealing with someone face-to-face? Or does working with someone over the phone satisfy your needs? It’s true, most things CAN be done online, but when the chips are down, an in-person relationship with a banker can save your neck.

Dana's take: With all the local full-service banking options, I have dismissed the idea of using a faceless online banker. Recently, however, I read some popular online retailers including Amazon, Apple and Walmart are inching into the banking business.

I have an Amazon VISA card, so I’ve already moved in that direction. Purchases on the card give me dollars to spend on Amazon.com. What if an Amazon checking account balance earned us dollars to spend on Amazon, too? That might get my attention.

What if my favorite online retailer, Zappos, offered reward dollars for holding a balance with the Bank of Zappos? Their service has been so impressive that I would consider putting my money where my shoes are.

Will financial service customers be willing to give up lollipops in the drive-thru to earn online shopping dollars? I’m banking on it.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Thursday, August 14. 2014

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Thursday, July 31,2014

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Thursday, May 8, 1014

Thursday, May 1, 2014

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Friday, April 18, 2014

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Thursday, December 19, 2013

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Thursday, October 23, 2013

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Thursday. August 1, 2013

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Thursday, July 4, 2013

Thursday, June 27, 2013

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Tuesday, June 5, 2013

Monday, May 27, 2013

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Thursday, May 2 2013

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Thursday April 11, 2013

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Thursday March 14, 2013

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Thursday, February 28, 2013

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Thursday, February 14, 2013

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Friday, January 18, 2013

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Monday, November 26, 212

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Thursday November 1, 2012

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Thursday, October 18, 2012

10-11-12

Thursday, October 04, 2012

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Thursday, August 09, 2012

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Wednesday, July 04, 2012

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Thursday, May 31,20102